Santorum Worries Me!

Published March 15, 2012 by mogallant

The other day I heard on NPR , oh hang on a minute….,I know I’m outting myself by admitting I listen to a liberal radio network, but the fact is that  I sometimes listen to NPR, can we move on now?

Okay, so the other day I was listening to NPR and I heard Santorum joking about being from Pennsylvania.  He said something like  Philly is on one side and Pittsburgh is on the other and Alabama is in the middle. Wow.  The folks down south seemed to like that, but I’m wondering  what that  means he’s thinking about us here in PA?

But then, even though Santorum was a Senator here in PA, what other than his accent places him squarely here as a citizen?  I mean he was raised here, but that was on a military base.  He went to school and didn’t live here, but don’t a lot of young  people do that too?  He now lives in Virginia, but it’s easier to have clout in Washington when you live near the big movers and shakers right?  He’s still from PA!  He’s still a PA guy.  He still understood PA law!  That gives him a certain PA cachet, doesn’t it?

I’m really not all that sure to be frank, we live in a nation where you can get the same sandwiches from the same style eateries all across the US, where most of our clothing comes from the same franchises, and where we buy almost all of our hard goods from overseas?  This is how big business operates!  This is capitalism!  This is America!  Right?

It’s hard to see what makes us exceptional when the things that  make us particular or individual or unique are being blurred out and truncated.

Do we really want to vote in a leader who can’t see the differences in each of the people in each state?  Are we really all so alike so that every Ohioan feels just like every Floridian?   Is every person who lives in the center of PA just like everyone who lives in Alabama?

I’m thinking maybe Rick is living out that feeling of  American “exceptionalism” completely in himself.  He’s gotten several degrees, but he’s not sure that most American’s need a college degree!  He’s got 7 kids, but he’s not sure a public education is the best bet for them, and he’s not even sure of a traditional Catholic education. Instead his family home schools.

I’m just not seeing an attitude of “We’re all in this together” when I look at Rick.  I’m honestly seeing more of an ” I’m appointed and I’ll fix everything”.  But  that only works if you agree with his vision of a perfect world and I’m not sure I like the idea of separating the sexes again, or of having a President that has to attend Mass every day.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not afraid of religion.  I’m afraid of zealotry.

Speaking of his faith, Rick has his own take on Catholicism too.  He’s apparently a little more into self flagellation than most American Catholics are.  He’s obviously more comfortable with institutions that see women in a homemaking role. Professional Homemakers!

Honestly, if the guy wants to see the world that way, it’s no skin off my nose, well, that is unless he’s President of the United States- or rather if he stuck to being President in his way.   Rick’s way!  Santorum just doesn’t seem like the kind of guy who will keep his opinions on things like social issues or personal rights issues to himself!  I’m feeling that he’ll assume that a vote for him is a vote for his kind of America.  Which I must imagine is a very special kind of America, but I’m afraid that it might be one  that only Rick Santorum understands completely.

Remember, as Rick says, this coming election is one of the most important elections of any of our lives!  Is anyone else out there worried?

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

