Uncategorized

Santorum? Like Him or Hate Him?

Personally I’m in the ‘hate’ column when it comes to Rick.  I despise his ‘holier than thou’ attitude.  It rubs me the wrong way. Please make no mistake, when I say I ‘hate’ a political figure like Santorum I am not talking about real vitriol.   I am using the terms love and hate in their loosest senses.  Since there are people in this world that can’t separate hating someone’s ideas from hating someone’s actual  life I want to try to be a little more specific here. It would be unconscionable for me to turn disliking someone’s opinions into anything more than an opportunity for discussion or in the case of my blog, an opinion piece. It’s frustrating to have to explain my choice of words, but I think it’s irresponsible if I don’t.  So there you have it.  I don’t really hate anyone!  I can’t even say I really hate anything!  Got it?

Okay, so let’s move on.  I know a lot of people do like him and so I have to be fair ( of course I don’t have to be fair, it just seems honest to at least try to be fair!)- He wants America to be exceptional again.  He wants this country to be like it was in the good old glory days( that may never actually have existed.)  He’s admitted he doesn’t want to cut government all the way back to where it was when this country first started, but he wants to cut back what the Federal government is involved in.

His view is that our government should be involved in protecting this nations borders and we should be involved in protecting our almighty dollar.  That is pretty much it.  Oh, no wait, he also wants to fight against contraception.  And he wants to marry off all the single mothers in this country.  He sees them as the scourge because they rely on government programs and thus if you marry them off they won’t wind up fighting for Democratic issues.

That is Rick Santorum.  ( If I’ve misrepresented Rick I’d be glad to offer him or one of his supporters time to share their views.)

Today I listened to a chat he had with an online host.  In it he mentioned his toddler who is disabled.  Rick talks a good game so a lot of people might not object to what he actually says but I listened several times and I actually heard him saying that his baby girl doesn’t offer him any ‘value’.  The only ‘value’ she has to him is that she loves him.  I’m scratching my head because I am trying to figure out where he gets this idea that any of our children add value to us their parents?

Poor Rick is so confident in his own vision of himself that he doesn’t see that he’s being callous.  There was another point that he was talking about income mobility or the ability of people at a low wage to move upward through hard work and I guess through savings.  He said this country was doing worse than Western Europe and he said when that happens it’s really bad.  But the way he wants to lift the poor in society is by bringing back manufacturing which sounds great until you think about what bringing back manufacturing means- I know I’m aligning myself with tree huggers here, but manufacturing in this country places quite a heavy toll on our environment!  Lowering electric prices and gas prices so manufacturing can come back again to the US sounds great until you drive through a manufacturing company town!  If you drive through Pennsylvania you’ll see a lot of scarred landscape, a lot of belching smokestacks and a lot of barbed wire because the facilities aren’t anywhere near where families want to live!  Manufacturing isn’t opening a small Mom and Pop shop anymore!  Rick doesn’t get that.

I think his biggest problem in captivating  me is that he has all these grandiose views for a better America and yet he doesn’t believe that the Federal government should have anything to do with those things.  Remember he is a supporter of manufacturing and I know how important that is but he’s got this plan that mimics Cain’s 9-9-9 with a 0-0-0! Look what his 0-0-0 plan is-

  • 0 taxes on the repatriation of overseas assets
  • 0 taxes on domestic manufacturing
  • 0 regulations – as in eliminating the entirety of the Obama Administration’s regulatory scheme

That folks is Santorum’s plan for America!  Vote for him and you’ll have a cheerleader for life! You’ll have a strong supporter of family values who doesn’t actually spend any money on programs but who plans on talks about it from the ‘bully  pulpit’.  He’ll fight to keep marriage ‘special’ and he’ll fight to keep sex in the marital bedroom.  He’ll fight to keep sex about procreation and not let it become trivialized so that it is just about pleasure!  But keep in mind that  he won’t invest any dollars in these projects.  He’ll just talk about it.

I’ve already said that I think Rick Santorum is a very good talker!  He’s so good you have to listen really close.  In the program I listened to he sort of caught himself when he was talking about sex.  He said maybe people don’t want to hear their politicians talking about sex….but that didn’t stop him!  He’s a good talker.

What do you think?

mo

Leave a Reply

