Uncategorized

Just How Many Homeless People Are in Pottstown?

I had posted about the ‘homeless problem’ here in Pottstown.  Now before I continue let me make it clear that I don’t think that the problem we have here in town has anything to do with the fact that there are people who are homeless.  I meant that it worries me that there are issues that most of us don’t think about that people who have no shelter have to live with!

Karla Romberg sent me some information about the Homeless in Pottstown because she saw the post I did.  I hope it’s okay that I share what she sent to me.  And, please, if you feel that any of the material, or information I share in this blog is inaccurate or just dead wrong, please, please just email me.  I am always willing to fix, or redress any mistakes.  Karla sent me some updated stats and some information on some outreach programs in the area-

Thank you Karla!

The Ministries at Main Street Homeless Shelter houses 15-30 people per night during the winter months

    – County Officials believe there are 50-80 single adults living on the streets in the TriCounty Area
                In Pottstown School District, about 15 students could be considered homeless
                Source: “Left Out in the Cold,” Pottstown Mercury, March 20, 2007
There are some who chose not to come into a shelter but the 50-80 single adults number is in the county as a whole.
I would like to invite you to the TCN Community Awareness Event: Rethink Homelessness
that we are holding next Wednesday. It is 12 Noon to 1 PM, in Smith Family Plaza.  I have attached a flyer.
As the TCN Homeless Committee is just beginning, we are continuing to educate each other so we can collaborate well and use our resources well.  The committee feels that it is important to educate the community that there are homeless in Pottstown.  As you mentioned in your blog, it is not always easy to see that we have this issue in Pottstown.  And a person many not know how to navigate the system in order to get help.  So our education initiative begins.
I hope to meet you on Wednesday during lunch and please let me know if you have questions that I might be able to help with.
Karla Romberg
Co-Chair, TCN Homeless Services Committee
TriCounty Community Network
260 High Street
Pottstown PA 19464

 

4 thoughts on “Just How Many Homeless People Are in Pottstown?”

  1. wednesday at 12 noon there is a rally to help the public become aware of the homeless problem in pottstown pa. like i said at noon on wednesday in front of the boro hall.

  2. Can u please give me estimations on the homeless in Pottstown and Mongomery county for this year and the last 5 years? I understand the fact that you may be busy so if you dont have the time can you direct me to the source of this information. Thank you and enjoy your day.
    Anthony Gray

    1. Anthony,

      Thank you for your comment, but I’m going to send you to Karla Romberg with the Tri County Network in Pottstown, if you can’t find their number email me at mogallant@gmail.com and I’ll send it to you directly. Best wishes on your research and thanks for stopping by this blog.

Leave a Reply

