Uncategorized

Pentagon Says Yes! Santorum Says “Well, I Don’t Know!”

Let’s get it all over with and choose Jeb Bush!  I’m so sick of Rick and Mitt just doesn’t seem to get the American people… Paul won’t make it and Gingrich is a…well he’s a thorn in my side, that is what he is!

But speaking of thorns in my side Santorum has now said that he doesn’t think that men are emotionally capable of working alongside women on the front lines in battle.  And because he worries about the camaraderie of men, he’s ready to tell women they can’t fight.

Is he kidding?  What rock did he crawl out from under lately?  Women are strong and determined and if they want to fight trust me, they are going to be battle ready.

I had a friend who objected  to women in the military.  We’d have the biggest fights because he’d tell me about token women in the military and I’d rip his ears off.  He had concerns about their being different tests for  males and females and different requirements about how much weight they had to be able to carry.  He said a woman couldn’t pick up a wounded fellow soldier and carry him on her back.  And I said that perhaps the tests were arbitrary and needed a total refresh to see what skills were essential on the battle field and whether women were capable of handling necessary skills.  He said that the military was getting around to that!  I said before you start blocking women just because it’s not the traditional way of doing things, maybe you should reconsider your bogus traditions!

I’m not trying to say that all women are going to be great military candidates, but I’m also  not stupid enough to automatically allow any male into a combat situation.

If someone were to ask me  who will win a fight I”m putting my money down on  the human with what I’ll call the natural  instinct to survive and conquer.  I think those folks have a look.  They act decisively.  They stand feet slightly braced, knees unlocked, hands ready for action.  Sometimes they are the folks that are  extra silent in an emergency situation.  You can see these natural born fighters operate.  It’s like they are sucking all the information in the space into themselves.  Those people aren’t either male or female.  They are human!

Yeah Rick, it’s a little old fashioned to imagine that only men can operate on the front lines. Only real men like Rick!   Sheesh.

 

mo

 

1 thought on “Pentagon Says Yes! Santorum Says “Well, I Don’t Know!””

  1. Haiku 75

    Haikus that question Church male dominance.

    Women’s uterus, 
    Epicenter of life’s force –
    “Garden Of Eden”.

    Females are equal ?
    In pay ? In Church affairs ? And –
    In reproduction ?

    Men telling women,
    “Do as I say ; not, I do” –
    The great male decree.

    Equality laws,
    Demand all persons equal –
    Where do women fit ?

    How would government 
    work if lead by a women ?
    Less fighting, more Love.

    Return to Eden, 
    Forget the apple/serpent –
    Males wrote the story.

    Ronald C. Downie

Leave a Reply

