Uncategorized

Calling A Woman A Slut

It makes me sad to talk about this.  Of course I heard about what Rush Limbaugh said about Sandra Fluke.  His outrageous comments were highly inflammatory and hearing them on so many news sources upset me personally.   If it wasn’t ‘news’ I wouldn’t have heard his nonsense because I generally don’t like being harangued by an idiot.

Today I’m reading about how Sandra isn’t a 23 year old, but a 30 year old.  I don’t really get the issue there.  Is it that people are upset that she was portrayed as a young woman and gosh, at 30 she’s what?  An aged spinster?  Sheesh.

I’m also reading that she’s promoting sex change surgery as well as birth control and sterilization.  That was something I read on a Catholic website but I can’t figure out why that matters at all either?  I mean asking that companies pay for employees to get medically necessary physical changes seems like a reasonable thing to fight for.  The question for me is what does medically necessary mean?  I sort of think that it’s possible to work that out!

This is the stuff that we should be having conversations about.  But that would be too hard for some folks wouldn’t it? It’s easier for them to imagine that Rush has this incredible power and that he has every right to debase a woman if he so chooses.  Well I disagree and luckily a lot of other people do too.

One of his sponsors dropped him because of his screed against Fluke.  The company is Carbonite.  People are saying that Carbonite’s drop in the stock market is because a bunch of CEO dittoheads are angry at their pulling away from Rush.

If you look up information on Carbonite you’ll find that they recently changed their advertising agency and that just as recently as 3 weeks ago they talked about their change in advertising.  That alone would be scary for investors if they saw that the main advertiser for Carbonite was in the past Rush, and now they see the ad company change compounded by the withdrawal of their advertising with Rush.  I mean, for investors it just means that Carbonite’s future is unknown.  The loss for them then is about losing Rush, but not because there are angry dittoheads supporting their fat head leader!

I just shake my head sometimes.  Things aren’t as simple and as cut and dried as some people want to believe.  The world is a lot more complicated!

Rush doesn’t seem like the kind of guy that understands that.

mo

 

1 thought on “Calling A Woman A Slut”

Leave a Reply

