Uncategorized

Why I’m Taking Copper Supplements!

The other day I was reading something that turned me onto the idea that copper was an important part of my diet that I was missing.  I heard someone saying that if they didn’t have enough copper in their system  then they might be unable to complete a stress test easily.  I couldn’t figure out why copper was so important.  I mean I always thought I tasted copper on my skin when I was sweating, or in my blood when I cut a finger and I automatically would pop it into my mouth.  But I never heard of anyone taking additional copper!

I checked out my multivitamin.  It had 45 percent of the RDA of copper in it.  That seemed so odd to me since there were some other vitamins and minerals that were at much higher levels.  Why was there so little copper?

When I read about copper toxicity I found out that it could make you sick, horribly sick, it could even make you DIE.  But I couldn’t find a lot of studies that showed folks dying from copper overloads.  It was another thing that seemed odd to me.

I found some studies that said that patients that had heart attacks or strokes, or serious illnesses had a lot of copper showing up in those organs.  But the science was leaning towards the fact that maybe bodies metabolize extra copper when there is an “incident”.  Rather than the concept that these folks had too much copper in their systems and that the copper caused the heart attack.

Then I found a study that talked about the French having fewer heart attacks.  It said that they drank a lot of red wine, which I had heard prevented heart attacks, but it told me more about why red wine as opposed to white wine helped.  This study said that the red wine was made with the skins that had been sprayed with copper fungicides while in the growing stages.

Hmmm.  So the french have fewer heart attacks because of ingesting copper fungicide????

I remember as a child I was a sickly sort of kid.  I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with anemia.  Therefore I took a daily dose of iron.  It tasted like drinking liquid metal.  I felt worse. And my teeth turned a dark yellowish color.

Strangely, now I find that a copper deficiency would also appear as anemia.  Taking extra iron would deplete the body further of copper!   Adding copper to your diet won’t turn your teeth yellow!

If only we had the internet then!

So what can you get copper from naturally so you don’t need to use a supplement?  Green leafy veggies, liver, almonds, soy, whole grains.

How can you lose copper?  Well, a high fructose corn syrup based diet isn’t going to help you retain it!  At least it didn’t with some friendly test rats.

Copper helps your body with melanin.  While I don’t know if it’s going to help me get color back into my hair, I do believe it’s possible that my greying hair has something to do with a copper deficiency!

Of course I’m not a nutritionist,  I’m just grabbing at straws to try to retain some youthful vigor as I get older, but damnit, I’m trying!

I’ll let you know what happens with the copper regimen.  I’ve taken 2 mg a day for the past week.  It seems like I can take up to 3mg a day without any danger.  I will not continue to take it as a daily supplement because it may tend to build up in my body over time and I don’t want to harm myself in any way.

Wish me luck!

love,

mo

 

 

4 thoughts on “Why I’m Taking Copper Supplements!”

  1. What have you noticed from taking copper? My iron has been low since I started giving blood when in college. I’m now 59, post-menopausal, take a vegetarian, chelated iron supplement and still have low iron. I recently started taking copper.
    Thank you.

    1. Hi Tracey,

      I’m not a doctor, I’m not in health care. I have no expertise at all in suggesting anyone do anything I do! Thanks for letting me state that officially before I respond.

      I was on a copper kick at first, and then I read some journal articles that made me worry because it was possible that I was getting more copper than I was aware of in my diet alone and as long as I was menstruating I figured it was okay to take supplements, but when I started symptoms of the “pause” I dropped back on taking the copper. I know men and women are different, but if you are interested look at what excess copper can do to men who don’t have the ability to excrete copper in a menstrual cycle.

      I will say that when I started adding things like supplements to my diet and I stopped drinking soda, and I began avoiding caffeine my hair and nails changed texture. I wasn’t so thrilled with the new hair texture, but that might be an age thing, but to have reached almost 50 and have strong nails? That made me feel invigorated somehow. *( I’ll probably find research indicating that nails get stronger with age anyhow.)

      I wish you all the best with your health and I hope you’ll share your experiences with us here.

      love,
      mo

      1. Thanks for your response. I’m on a protocol of supplements, so it’s hard to tell what is or isn’t working.

  2. Hi, how did you get on with the copper supplements? I’ve tried taking them and they seem to make me ill in the mornings. Have you have any side effects?

Leave a Reply

