Uncategorized

Free Hugs!

True story!  The other day I was sitting on the beach in my little sand chair watching beach walkers and two young men walked down the beach sporting identical t-shirts that said “Free Hugs”.  Now these kids didn’t look like the sort of young people who’d welcome a stranger walking up to them and asking them to hug, but they were wearing the shirts!  Shouldn’t that mean something?

I felt a little miffed.  It wasn’t that I really wanted or needed a hug, although who can honestly say they don’t need a hug most of the time?  I think I felt badly about seeing those kids in their brightly colored t-shirts because I guessed they were just being cutesy.  They didn’t really mean anything by  wearing those shirts.  I just knew that there have been people who have gone out en masse sharing simple hugs and I wanted those two Justin Bieber styled kids to be the kind of people who understood that hugs were awesome.

Then I saw another t-shirt…it said “Zombie Killer”.  I decided to stop reading t-shirts.

love,

mo

PS, if you need a hug, let me know! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

