Uncategorized

One of My Kids Is In Kentucky Building A Home!

I’m proud of my kids!  This week one of my sweet kids is in Kentucky helping a family with their home.  She’s not building a home of her own, she’s doing this for the second year  as part of her Honors board with her college.  They send a group of young people down South to live in a church basement and eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for a week while they paint or re-roof, or tile, or build ramps to help make things a little nicer for folks who need a break.

I never imagined this would be something she’d be doing.  It isn’t that I didn’t see her as a giving person, it’s just that I didn’t spend a lot of time imagining this kind of stuff when I was busy tying sneakers and parceling out snacks of cheerios.  Kids grow up though!  And that little girl who once was afraid of getting her fingers messy is now sweating her butt off while painting someones home without financial renumeration.  She’s doing it because she’s found it to be rewarding in a lot of other ways.

I’m proud of her!

love,

mo/m

You Go Laur!

 

 

Leave a Reply

