Uncategorized

Want A New Email? Try Microsoft’s Outlook.

I signed up for an Outlook account over at outlook.com.  I will keep my gmail account but I’ll try using the new address for personal mail.  Not Bot mail!

I have to admit I sort of hate it when I’m reading a letter or writing one and I notice the advertisements seem to be paying attention to what is on the page.  Half the time the ads aren’t spot on, so I’m not so sure their algorithms are working properly, but I can see the connections and I hate it.

Outlook at least promises a little more privacy when it comes to personal mail.  They’ll still be advertising but it won’t be about chinese food when you are talking about studying Chinese to a friend.  When someone sends you an email telling you they have some extra tickets to a show, you won’t have to read ads about other entertainment venues in your locale.

I got a “thank you for being one of our first users” note which I think is cool.  How often does that happen anymore online?  It was easy to sign up and I liked that if I forget my password, I can get a text to my phone, or an automated call.  Or I can just go check another email account.  I don’t have to remember the name of my first hairless pet.  Or my first teacher with bad breath.

Check out Outlook.com, if not for any reason other than grabbing your preferred name for yourself before someone else does!

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

