Uncategorized

Japanese Cheesecake

Yesterday I made a cheesecake that I had been seeing on Pinterest.  It was delicious.  I’d attach the recipe here but I tweaked it because I wasn’t quite sure of the conversions from an English kitchen and an American one.  Who knew it would be so hard to make a delicious cheesecake?

I think I started with one block of cream cheese.  The recipe called for about 10.5 oz, but our blocks don’t come in that amount so I used what I had.  I also needed 3 tablespoons of butter, 2/3 of a cup of milk, 3 egg yolks, 1 tablespoon of corn flour in one double boiler, and 20 grams of sugar.  Heat till thickened.

In another bowl I stirred the remaining 3 egg whites with 55 grams of sugar, or something close.

I mixed the two bowls together. Poured them into an 8 inch baking dish seated in a water bath and baked it for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.  I turned down the temperature to 300 degrees for another 25 minutes and then left it in the oven for an hour.

I made a mess of my kitchen without knowing whether the cake would be worth all the effort and I’m very glad I did. I sliced into a cloud of light cheesy goodness last night.  It retained the consistency of light foam, but after you ate it you’d swear you just ate a piece of cheesecake, which of course,you just did.

Don’t go by my recipe for it here if you are going to try it.  Go to my pinterest site, or just type in Japanese cheesecake.

love,

mo

 

Leave a Reply

