Uncategorized

Chocolate Pudding

I’m not a big pudding fan, but my family likes it so I buy those little boxes of instant pudding because it doesn’t take long and it satisfies my kids need for something sweet.  I don’t buy processed sweets, so when I talk about making a cake, or a fruit crumble, or cookies that is generally the amount of sweets you’ll find in my house.  I’m not bragging about this, it’s just that I’m a sugar fiend and if it is in my house I’ll eat it.  Which is why pudding works, I don’t like it, but they do.

Anyhow, I just figured out by checking out several websites that I don’t have to buy those packets of instant pudding.  It turns out that if you mix 3/8 of a cup of sugar, plain old white sugar, and 1/8 of a cup of flour , or a little less corn starch, and a 1/4 tsp of vanilla you’ve got the dry goods that when added to two cups of milk and stirred till it thickens gives you a pudding that tastes pretty darn good.

It’s not the same as the Jello brand stuff, but it’s made of stuff I always have floating around my house.  I can use the  dry mix in cakes, and cookie recipes and as a thickener for fruit salads if I want them sweet.  And I never knew all I had to do was combine sugar, flour and flavoring to wind up with a pudding like treat.

Don’t ask me how hot the burner needs to be, you can either cook it on low till the whole thing gets hot enough to start thickening, or you can use a little higher heat but you have to make sure that there is no sticking on the bottom going on.  That will leave an unpleasant burned taste.  Stir,stir, stir and once it starts to thicken turn down the heat but continue  stirring for another 3 minutes or so.

I take it off the heat, pour it into dishes and pop them in the fridge.

That was easy!

love,

mo

Today I added about an 1/8 of a cup of cocoa and a couple of ghiardelli chocolate squares.   By the time the chocolate melted the thickening was complete.

Leave a Reply

