Uncategorized

Obama Campaign Called!

Who knows who really called my house last night, but whoever it was said that they were calling on behalf of the Obama campaign and they wanted to know if we were willing to tell  them who we’d be voting for.

My husband answered the phone by saying ” What is your favorite color?”  When the  woman on the other end of the line asked him whether he’d tell her who we’d be voting for he said ” Hang on…” and he asked me if I wanted to tell her.  I was lying on the couch in my living room listening to my daughter read a science fiction novel to me.  ( This doesn’t always happen,I was just lucky last night.)  I shrugged, and then said “no”.  He told the woman on the phone that we didn’t want to share and that was the end of their chat.

My kids have bristled about sharing their political beliefs with folks.  They think it’s private information.  I’ve laughed and told them that the only time it is private is before they vote!  They were surprised that people could find out who they voted for and I tried to explain that the whole point of their being involved in voting was that they were making a choice and it wasn’t a secret ballot.  It was a citizen’s voice.  I don’t worry about sharing my political feelings.  I’ve mentioned several times on this blog that I’m a liberal Democrat but that doesn’t mean that I’m always going to vote party line.

This election is being cast as one of the most important elections for America’s future!  Well, I’ve been around the block a couple of times and I am pretty sure that it doesn’t matter who we vote in, things aren’t going to magically change immediately for any of us.  Gas will still be expensive, college costs will still be crazy, food prices aren’t going to get much cheaper, health care will continue to be expensive and many Americans will still be sitting around their kitchen tables fraught with worry.  Sadly, this election won’t change all of those things!

But I’m still voting if I’m physically able, and that vote will be for Obama.  Romney’s been a bit of a bulldog in the past debates and I’m sure that is attractive to some, but I’m not the kind of person that thinks that loud means right.  I don’t like his social policies and I’m not so sure I want to agree that we are all “children of the same God” as he said in the last debate.  I don’t like my politicians being very religious!

Onto Economics:  I would like to believe in Romney’s “trickle down economics” mostly I agree with his view  that “trickle down government” isn’t a great plan for our economic future, but as I said, I’ve been around the block a few times and I know that rich people like  living in gated communities, and they like hobnobbing with their rich friends, and while they often donate to very good causes- those causes are not always going to be the causes that make the biggest difference in the quality of life for their fellow Americans.   I certainly don’t want rich people to have to be responsible for taking care of the poor, but I can’t figure out another way to help the folks that don’t have sufficient means on their own to get by.  Just creating jobs won’t help lower income Americans find employment.

And lastly, you can disagree with me, but I agree with Obama that there are some quality of life issues that Romney isn’t talking about ( he likes talking about his 5 point plan)  and those issues will keep me voting as a Democrat. Sure, Obama won’t be able to fix everything that I see that needs fixing but I can see where he wants to be and therefore I’m voting for him.  I believe that getting America back to work is very important, but no one can fool me, ” quality of life issues” are very important too.

love,

mo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

