Uncategorized

Friday I’ll Be Married 28 Years!

I just told my husband that we’ve  been married a long time.  He laughed and said ” I don’t know, does it seem like a long time?”  That my friends, explains why we are still married!

I can and do say things that he doesn’t expect me to say, and most of the time he laughs and responds in a kind or pleasant way.  Sure,there were a few years that he didn’t talk to me at all, of course they weren’t all hooked together, or we wouldn’t still be married, but I’m thinking it is fair to say that we’ve argued for about 3 years in total out of almost 30.  That isn’t so bad is it?  90 percent of the time we get along swimmingly…and 10 percent of the time it is kind of well, let’s not even talk about it.

When I think of the young people we were when we got married, heck, we didn’t have a clue how long we were committing to.  Afterall, I was what?  Only 2 years old?  🙂

Okay, I was a little older, but I wasn’t as old as my marriage is old!  And the kick is we probably have more marriage ahead of us!  If I’m lucky I’ll be able to say “we’ve been married a long time” in another ten years, or another thirty years if I’m really lucky.

I guess my advice to young people who are thinking about long term commitment is ” Don’t worry about it, you are incapable of knowing how long your commitment is going to last.  Take it one day at a time, and you just might find yourself surprised someday, just like me, when you are trying to figure out how long you’ve been married!

Happy Anniversary to me!

love,

mo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

