Uncategorized

Understanding Crazy People

Do you think you can understand what it is like to be crazy?  Sure that isn’t exactly the term we should be using in thinking about people who behave in outrageous, dangerous, or suspect ways, but you have to admit that the code word “crazy” certainly gets used often enough when we are talking about people who act outside of what most of us consider to be “normal”.

I’m asking this question because I think it’s important for most of us to recognize that you can’t get to crazy from sane!  You can’t imagine what it is like to be crazy!  It isn’t the same as being “normal” and acting out.  It isn’t the same as having a reasonable point of view and disregarding it.  It means the person’s thinking is bizarre.

A lot of people have been trying to figure out  what was wrong with Adam Lanza after he shot up a school last week.  While I don’t want to assume that Adam would fit into my definition of “crazy”, I’m going to go out on a limb and assume he might have.  And if he was what I’d have called “crazy”, then there is no way I can get to where he was in his head no matter how hard I try.

Have you ever wondered why you think the way you do?  How is it that you can arrive at a similar place after being exposed to a set of ideas, with a total stranger?  We have to accept that some of us absorb information in similar ways but we have to acknowledge that  there are others who will never understand, or appreciate, or get what we feel.

Crazy doesn’t have a map.  You can’t get there from sane!  You can’t torture your head to arrive at the same place a disturbed person thinks from!

IT is dreadful when a crazy person abuses the trust of the rest of us, we desperately want to understand them, but I’m afraid it isn’t going to happen.

love,

mo

1 thought on “Understanding Crazy People”

  1. I remember being so deflated and I guess disappointed when Spalding Gray killed himself. I never had many heroes in the regular sense, but I suppose he was one of them. And then he did something I consider “crazy.” How preoccupied with suicide must people be who actually do it must have been? It must have been a daily consideration, do I do it or not? It mystifies me.

Leave a Reply

