Uncategorized

Beef Stew!

A friend of mine at work the other day was heating her lunch in the microwave and boy did it smell good.  It was home cooked beef stew.  Of course I was swooning over the scent and I had no problem telling her it smelled delicious, so you know what happened next?  That lovely lady scooped out some of her lunch and gave me a snack!

That tidbit made me rush home that evening to make my own beef stew. I used  a couple of discounted chuck steaks I had in the freezer.  I cut them into cubes and browned them in some olive oil.  I tossed in some onion and garlic and then I added carrots and frozen peas.  I needed a base and I didn’t have any beef broth so I opened a can of mushroom soup and I poured it all into a roasting pan with a lid and heated it at about 350 for 40 minutes.  In a separate pot I boiled some potatoes because I like them softened and sometimes when they aren’t soaked while cooking they soften in some places and stay firm in others.  So I just quartered them after boiling them for a few minutes and then added them to the rest of my stew.

I won’t say mine was as tasty as my friends, but I will say it was satisfying.  And I didn’t break the bank  because the chuck steak wasn’t all that expensive.

Tonight we are having the leftovers!

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

