Uncategorized

Shrove Tuesday’s Over!

Yesterday was Mardi Gras, or Shrove Tuesday.  It is the beginning of the season of Lent.  Shrove is past tense of “shrive” which means to shed, or in a religious sense, it means to confess.  And of course it’s also pancake day, or doughnut day and that is because it’s a day when you clear your cupboards of things that are fatty or delicious…and what is the best way to get rid of sugar and fat and sweets?

A:  Eat them all at once!

I had been watching all the buxom ladies who were in the Mardi Gras parades, and honestly, it made me feel sort of itchy.  Can you imagine having spangles attached all over your body?  I certainly couldn’t, although, even with spangles all over my body I still wouldnt’ look like those women look!  Sheesh.

So, I decided to find some dancing that wasn’t quite as r-rated…of course I didn’t quite succeed; the stuff I found seems  a lot more, lets say graphic,  when it comes to showing off the physical bodies of it’s presenters, or dancers.  It’s called Butoh.

Butoh dancers paint their bodies white, wear minimal clothing, and writhe as if they are operated from outside their bodies.  Think of Japanese grudge flicks.

I’m not linking, but I dare you to watch some of those Youtubes before bed!  After I watched them, I wanted pancakes, or doughnuts.  Go watch!  You’ll see.

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

