Uncategorized

Defining A Meme

My youngest daughter has officially told me that “meme” is pronounced “mem” as if it was a french word, which she says has roots in the word we get memory from…even though  personally, I’ve always pronounced it as “meem”.  Basically  a meme is an idea, although it is not like the kind of idea that reminds you of something when you are stuck in traffic and let’s say for example, you see a pizza delivery car next to you and that makes you think you have to stop to pick up something for dinner, no, a meme is an idea that is passed like a virus among people.  It’s sort of a popular idea!

Now for the real point of this posting, one of my college aged youngsters came home tonight and showed me something she was disgusted by…it was an image on Facebook.  It was a graphic image of a couple of assault rifles in pink on a red background.  When I looked at it I didn’t get it.  I mean, I got why it might be annoying to see two pink assault rifles, or at least what I took to be two assault rifles but really, I was clueless, becasue that was all I got from the picture.  She then told me about the push to change images on Facebook, people’s profile images, to show affinity for gays, *( should that be capitalized?)  In short, the symbol of a pink equals sign with it’s two  equidistant lines on a red background somehow means at least among her generation that people who post it are in support of getting rid of what they consider to be human rights violations against gays.  Her irritation with the assault rifles in the shape of an equals sign arose because of her opinion that the person who used those guns in their image was actually being aggressive towards gays.

Well, with that understanding I understood her reaction to the image, but prior to her explaining it to me I was too out of it to know what it was that disturbed her.  I didn’t get the meme.

This evening I figured I would check it out further.  I’m glad I did.  It turns out that the equals sign is the sign for one particular group that supports gay, lesbian, trans and bi called the Human Rights Campaign.  That symbol is their logo.  So then I checked out their site and I found that there are many groups that support Gay rights.  So I copied  that page devoted to other groups that support gay rights and  I’m attaching that list here for you, my readers who like me, are interested in finding out more about the struggle in the Gay community about things like Prop 8 in California, or DOMA nationally.

Check them out-

American Veterans for Equal Rights

Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice
212-529-8021

Bisexual Resource Center
617-424-9595

Campus Pride
704-277-6710

CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers
202-824-0405

Gay Asian Pacific Support Network
213-368-6488

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
323-933-2240

Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
415-255-4547

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network
212-727-0135

GenderPAC
202-462-6610

Immigration Equality
212-714-2904

Lambda Legal
212-809-8585

National Association of People with AIDS
240-247-0880

National Black Justice Coalition
202-349-3755

National Center for Lesbian Rights
415-392-6257

National Center for Transgender Equality
202-903-0112

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
202-393-5177

National Minority AIDS Council
202-483-6622

National Transgender Advocacy Coalition
978-373-8898

National Youth Advocacy Coalition
800-541-6922

Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
202-467-8180

Safe Schools Coalition
206-632-0662 ext. 49

Servicemembers Legal Defense Network
202-328-3244

Trans-Health

Transgender Law Center
415-865-0176

Transgender Law and Policy Institute

YouthResource
202-419-3420 ext. 30

College Guides

LGBT Youth Reports

Gay-Straight Alliances (GSAs)

Starting a GSA

Legal Issues

Annual Events

LGBT History Month Resources

Starting a Safe Space/Zone

Gender Identity & Expression

Faith and Religion

Leave a Reply

