Uncategorized

Nuclear War and Me

I remember as a child I worried about there being a Nuclear War.  I imagined that it meant a larger war than anything the world had ever experienced, and somehow that translated directly in my child mind into something like each person would be hit directly in the face with their own personal bomblet.  It was horrible to think about.  I envisioned having to walk around in face masks in order to be able to breathe the air.  And the world I’d continue to live in, if I was lucky enough to survive the carnage, would be a world that looked completely different- It would be alien.

Now as an adult, it’s hard to connect those childish fears with our current reality in which a nut-case in North Korea has a couple of nuclear weapons that he’s posturing about.  He’s making neighbor countries worry that he just  might shoot his weapons off.  It’s absolutely crazy, but I’ve got to tell you that my adult self is less worried about complete world demolition.

Now I’m thinking that Kim’s nukes will hit Japan, or Guam. And while that is still a noxious thought because of course I hate the idea of a couple of nuclear weapons being released anywhere on the planet, but still, it is semi-comforting that in all likelihood I probably won’t have to clean up any remnants of nuclear disaster right out front of my own house.I( NIMBY)

It still pisses me off though, now that I know that nuclear materials can survive no matter where they are detonated to waft through the air on currents that honestly make a nuclear explosion anywhere here on Earth a potential hazard for all of us on this planet.

But then I remember  Fukushima which wasn’t all that great for the planet and we know that had nothing to do with war.

No, I no longer think that the world will crystallize because of the heat put off by a nuclear bomb.  Now I just think that a small area will be decimated.  It’s so damn depressing that adults think it’s okay to bomb  each other into some kind of sick submission to their way of thinking- but that seems like our current reality.

Okay, so here have a crazy person with a couple of nuclear devices, or at least he says he has them.   He’s  apparently ready to use them.  Fact is that they probably won’t hit my neighborhood, unless meany Kim Jong-Un reads my blog post and has a particularly devious streak in him- wait a minute…what am I saying?  This is the guy with the nuclear weapons!

Sheesh.  You know what the worst thing about all of this is for me?  It’s the sense of tired disgustedness I feel.   I don’t want a world war to start, but I am afraid I also feel like something is going to have to happen to change the dynamic that we have going on with small nations threatening the well-being of the entire world because they feel irritated, or angry at the US.  But I don’t have any good ideas on solving that problem.

I know what I’m not going to do-I’m not going to run out and by sugar and chocolate and heating oil and rubber gaskets for home auto repairs.  I’m not going to purchase a gas mask or a geiger counter. Frankly, I’m sort of tired of being afraid.  What will  come, will come.

Of course, I hope something wonderful happens to make the idea of a nuclear disaster go  away.  Something has to change and soon, because we can’t ignore the threats, and we can’t worry about them from now till eternity.

The one thing I do feel is that if North Korea does use it’s nuclear arsenal, then I’m pretty sure no matter how angry people are at the US for being a bossy domineering neighbor, the citizens of the globe will line up to put some controls on nations like North Korea.  It is very sad that we’ll have to wait and see…but what choice do any of us have?

I hope this is a good week.  I hope none of us have to worry about nuclear blasts!

As for me, here is what I am going to do- I’m going to do my best to live well in each and every moment I am lucky enough to have, and if it’s true that the world is populated  with some crazy people who want to destroy the planet for their  own wicked pleasures- well really, what is that to me?  I’m going to enjoy Spring!

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

