Uncategorized

Putting Things Together!

Isn’t it amazing when someone puts two or more things together and they work nicely?  I know this must seem a little silly, but I find myself a little irritated sometimes when I see a recipe, or a craft using things that I have, and that I’d have never imagined connecting.  For example, I sometimes eat chocolate chips.  I love them when they are hot and just out  of the oven.  I pick them up and hold them in my hands till they cool down so I can eat them without burning my tongue off.  Who else does exactly the same thing???

Well, now let’s imagine a clever person who takes that same hot delicious chocolate chip cookie, but they add a dollop of vanilla ice cream.  Suddenly their dessert is so much more practical and enjoyable than mine is!

The other day I was watching a program on television, it was a cooking show, and the guy was cutting out small rounds of tortillas and painting them with oil and then baking them.  Once he had baked these little rounds he put sauce on them and topped them with a shrimp.  In seconds he had an appetizer that I’d have never thought of.  That is so bothersome! 🙂

I’m catching on though!  I finally have begun to wrap my head around the idea that I can mix things and that those mixtures are then things in their own right!  Like last night I thawed some meatballs I had made earlier in the week.  I didn’t want to have the same old meatballs and spaghetti again, so I added them to a crock pot with chili beans and tomato sauce and corn and garlic and cheese.  Then all I had to do was mix up some cornbread and it was an entirely different dish.

The other day I had a couple of candles in jars that were all burned down to the bottom of the glass containers and still they had about a  1/4 of an inch worth of wax in them.  In the past I’d have thrown them out.  These days I pop them into a pot with warm water and bring it to a gentle heat so that the wax turns to liquid.  Then I get a birthday candle and insert it in the middle of a small glass candle container and I keep it there with a metal tie from bread, then I pour the rest of the scented melted wax into the jar.  Now I have a new candle.

I know these things seem silly, but I know you guys are tossing stuff just like I am!  The other day, I got rasberries and I worried about eating them all before they went bad, my daughter said let’s freeze them in ice.  Now when I make a lemonade, or an orange juice I pop a frozen berry in it.  Neat.

Oh yeah, say you are running  out of ketchup but there is still a bit in the bottom…don’t throw it away, mix a little vinegar into it, a squirt of mustard, add some brown sugar and then water.  It’s barbeque sauce.

Mayonnaise left over in the jar?  Add some relish and you’ve got tartar sauce which will slip out more easily.

Cutting veggies and you don’t need all of them?  Bag them in a freezer bag and add the next time you are making eggs, or a meatloaf.

love,

mo

1 thought on “Putting Things Together!”

  1. [1962] “Butterscotch Brownies 1 cup sifted flour 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon baking powder 1/8 teaspoon baking soda 3/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts of pecans 1/3 cup butter or margarine 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar 1 tablespoon hot water 1 egg 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/2 cup caramel or chocolate chips Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan. Sift together the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Stir in the nuts. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Remove from heat; mix in the brown sugar and water until dissolved. Cool. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Gradually stir in the flour mixture until smooth. Pour into the prepared pan. Sprinkle the caramel chips on top. Bake 20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cook on a cake rack. Cut into 2-inch squares.

Leave a Reply

