Uncategorized

Algebra and Me!

I have had fun learning some basic algebra with one of my kids.  She was explaining some of her calculus homework to me and I was a little confused about “functions” so she decided I needed to go over some of the basics.  She explained what equations were, and she went over powers, and we discussed slopes, and we talked about functions and derivatives.  I still don’t know too much but it’s fascinating to know that there is like an entire language expressed in numbers.  Real numbers, imaginary numbers…it’s awesome!

I don’t think one conversation with my daughter is going to get me  ready for any math tests, but I’m pretty pleased that I finally know which plane I’ll find the x coordinates on and which I’ll find the y coordinates on.  When my daughter started to talk about the z  coordinates…I pretended to fall asleep.

🙂

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

