Uncategorized

My Reading Frenzy Continues

I have recently read Jack Kerouac’s On the Road, then I read Tallgrass  by Sandra Dallas. I also read Ned Vizzini’s It’s Kind of a Funny Story and I read Monica Holloway’s memoir Playing with Dead People.  I continued reading Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and I finished this weekend’s reading with Terry Pratchett’s The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents.

My brain is tired.   My eyes are tired.  But I don’t think I’m ever going to be done reading.

I think that is a good thing, and a bad thing.  It’s a good thing because I’m really in love with the characters I find in the stories I read.  Author’s go to the trouble of crafting these wonderful personalities and they are locked in their book jackets until someone takes them out and opens up their lives.  I like being one of those people.  It’s a bad thing to read so much because there is never going to be an end to the list. The books keep coming.  There are more stories in this world than I’ll ever have time to read.  That is kind of sad.

A lot of books have similar stories, but every author has a unique voice, even if their writing isn’t all that compelling!  Each story stands alone.

I mean look at the list I’ve read recently  I can compare Kerouac’s book with the book by Vizzini and the book about Dante and Aristotle by Saenz, but they are all completely different.  One is about a man finding himself and getting caught up in the teen angst that separates boys from men…oh no, wait, they are all about that topic!  But with Kerouac there is this intimate connection with a male character…oh right, the same is true with Saenz’s Aristotle and Dante…and Bobby makes a strong impression on Ned Vizzini’s young man.

I wish I could express how I feel with the same acumen that these authors do.  I don’t write that way.

Monica Holloway’s book struck a chord with me.  I’m still a little dazed by her book.

So many voices saying ” I’m afraid, I’m alone, I feel like an outsider.”

Terry Pratchett doesn’t say that!  Terry Pratchett is probably ecstatic that he’s an oddball which is part of the reason I like to have a book by him around when the other books are a bit too heavy.  Reading a book from his Disc World is like listening to a lecture  given by a speaker who keeps inhaling helium.  It’s so wrong, it’s hysterical.

Oh, I forgot that I also read a graphic novel called the Umbrella Academy.  The pictures were wild, but the story was a little odd.  My daughter tells me that is the way it is with graphic novels so I shouldn’t get all bent out of shape about it.  I’ll try to keep an open mind.

I’m going to keep reading, but I’m pretty pleased with the titles I’ve read so far and I’d love to share them.  If you want a good book just stop by the library and I’m sure we’ll find you something!

love,

mo

aka Miss Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

