Uncategorized

I’m Guessing You Can Read!

I was pretty surprised the other day when I read some statistics about the reading ability of folks in the United States.  If you are interested in the details, send me a message and I’ll pass along what I learned, but here, I want to you readers to think about all the people in your life who aren’t skilled at reading.  The stats suggest there are a lot of adults out there with a 5th grade reading ability.

The funny thing is, folks who can’t quite get the reading thing down learn other skills to hide their inability to read.  They might search for important words they know and then they make assumptions about what they need to know.  People who aren’t comfortable reading aren’t comfortable following lengthy directions.  They aren’t comfortable figuring out maps, or schedules.  And remember, they aren’t going to tell anyone that their problem is their inability to read!  They’ll pretend they’ve forgotten their glasses, or that they’ve got a headache, or they just don’t have the time to go through and read something.

It’s sort of sad to think that people aren’t comfortable saying ” Hey, I can’t read!”  It’s sad because it isn’t as if it’s their fault!  Most likely they missed a couple of pretty important steps in decoding information.  Sheesh.

I wish there was something I could do to help. And I don’t wish that because I want acclaim.  I just want people to be able to access information for themselves.  I want them to enjoy a good book.  I want them to feel confident recognizing words.

I have made several attempts to help people read…but I don’t feel quite satisfied that I’ve done all I could.

Here I’m singing to the choir!  This blog is almost 100 percent text.  The internet is almost entirely text!

Well, I was just thinking about it and I wanted to put it out there.  If anyone has any ideas…feel free to shout out here.

There has to be an answer.  People are really smart!  And when I say that, I mean all of us!  Readers and Non-readers alike.

Think about it…

love,

mo

Leave a Reply

